2020 Semi-Finalists

Congratulations to the 2020 BlueCat Screenplay Competition Semi-Finalists!


There are 114 semi-finalists out of a total of 3552.

A Hard Day’s Heist by Nick Boocock
A Tent on Jupiter by Derek Nicoletto
A Winter Scene by Sam Griswold
Adult 1.0 by Amelia Wasserman
Agent Thumb by Alison Parker & Rodriguez Fruitbat
American Blue by Jen Bieser
Andante by Tyler Kendrick
Arcadian by Scott Hardie
Army Brat by Julie Anbarchian
At the Edge of the Field by Michael A. Kowaleski
Bear-Proof Suit by Nicholas Shafir
Beheaded by Helen Williams
Bloom by Kevin Murphy
Broad Daylight by Douglas Cushnie
Chemistry by Jacob Marx Rice
Clay by Adi Blotman
Clone by Kerinne Jenkins
Creche by Dave Sheski
Cuesta Verde by Matt Flynn
Da Sol by Corbin Billings
Damsels, Henchmen, Monsters, Oh My! by Nikai Johnson
Days of Going Nowhere by Pei Pei Chen
Death’s Game by Anthony Piersanti
Diablous in Musica by Amanda Krader
Electric Indigo by Thomas Krutainis
Escape Pod by Buster La Haye & Eugene La Haye
Fair Game by Kent Reason
Fandom by Ellie Simon
Fence Off by Karolyn Szot
Fiasco by Richard Woodie Mister
Fitter Families by Caitlin Scherer
Flittermouse by Adrian Ferrara
Focus by Laura Dobre
From Black to Red by Jordan Kelvin
Guts by Caitlin Stow
Gyopo by Christina Ye Rim Jun
Heart by Daniel Lauder
Home of the Devils by Steven D’Addieco
Hotspot Rising by Adam Hersh
Hustler’s Blues by Brandon Mowles
I Killed Tofu by Troy Elliott
Journey to Fisterra by Alan Lambert
Judy The Executioner by Jason Kemp & Christopher Thoman
Kayfabe by Farouk Chakwa
King of Dreams by Sean Doyle
King of Rio Barro by Jonathan Easley
Kobos by Adam Hersh
Lancaster Pastoral by Raymond Cho
Life at Sandy’s by Aleksandra Hansen
Lightning Roy by Stuart McClave
Like Gold Dust by Martin Bell
Lineage by Maria Soscia
Long Way South by Michael Gustavo Peterson
Masao by Sandra Vea
Monograph by Denis Coupal
Never Been F*cked by Erica Scandariato
Never Have I Ever by Troy Hart
New Alcatraz by Dylan Dockery
No Room at the Inn by Sean Kirkpatrick
Nobodies from the Bank by Shakira Pressley
Nubile by Donna Dinovelli
Only Ones Who Won’t Be Missed by Anthony Ladesich & Trey Hock
Out Of Xatala by Debi Yazbeck
Pastor Dash by Pearse Lehane
Pendulum by Sebastien Blanc & Davide Marangoni
Queen Maeve by Hanna Nielson
Queen of Hogs by Brad Martocello
Rebellion by Sergio Kopelev
Red In Tooth And Claw by Brennig Hayden
Ruby House by Amy Monaghan
Sadie by Nicholas Nogueira
Sana by Michael Orton & Robert Aguilar
Show Chickens by Tracy Ashworth
Son by Allison Webster
South Side Girls by Edith Rodriguez
Sundays Only by Joe Borg
Ten Rounds to Life by Mary O’Riordan
That’s how the light gets in by Andrew Durkan
The Art of Willful Detachment by Virginia Franken
The Assassination of an American Teenager by Mike Harris
The Beautiful Kind by Deborah Heslop
The Bridge by Shelia Watson
The Camel Knows The Way by Matthew Riopelle
The Events by Brennig Hayden
The Fallout by Michael Fairbrass
The Golden Dragon Massacre by Spaceman Chong
The Homestudy by Derek Nicoletto
The Inimitable by Megan Turner
The Lease of Nature by Anderson Boyd
The Lost Live On by Edward Case
The Love Poems of a Professional Torturer by Leigh Hunt
The Mad Woman by June Escalante
The Memory of Sleep by Seth Insua
The Pearl of Gloucestershire by Paula Podgurski
The Princess & Her Kingdom by Brian Uriel
The Pull by Bobby Marino
The Skins of Our Fathers by Jennifer Sharp
To the Stars and Back by Hugh Schulze
Top Model by A. Jay. Ung
Trigger by Brandon Chang
Tuxedo Terrace by Carmine Bicchetti
Two Once Removed by Jeffrey Curry
Tycho by Marco Altamirano
Unsinkable Sam by Andres Rivera
Up in Smoke by Elijah Otwey
Virus Scan by Mark Howling
War By The Sea by Cody Farren
Warbrave by Andres Rivera
West by Micah Stuart
White Christmas by Michael Kenny
White Picket Fence by Djordje Calic & Kyle Ostrander
Wulff Mann by Harrison Sim
You Make Me Feel by Ben Escobar
You, The Jury by Sarah Louise Madden



There are 65 semi-finalists out of a total of 1423.

33 Avenue D- The Lo-Is-Aida by Leslie Kramer
American Seance by Jose Prendes
Amniyat by Rossa McPhillips
An American Tale by Jane Barr
Animal Hospital by Fielder Jewett
Arianna by Mehul Desai
Badass by Kelly Beck-Byrnes
Big Pond by Tavish Gudgeon
Black Water by Gussie Roc
Blaze of Glory by Fred Kamping
Bountiful by Vincent Stoia
Bride by Jessica Marie Littles
Buckin’ Hell by Erick Ziegler
Carousel Effect by Thomas F. O’Brien
Cloistered by M Rowan Meyer
Controlled Recklessness by Katie Benvenuto
Damned by Chip Johnson
East Dakota by Val Balano
Elan by Adam Pasen & Samuel Horowitz
En Tournant by Victoria DeMartin
Entre Nos (Between Us) by Jesenia Ruiz
Exhibit Earth by Dorian Palumbo
Fear of Trembling by Jared Lopez
Glitch by Matthew Shafeek
Good Intentions by Ian Early
Half In / Half Out by Eric Stroud & Rory Kulz
Hiraeth by Siôn Eirug
I Love You to Death by Tess Andrade
Ley People by Tom McLean
Mankind by Jessica Kenney
Mental by Arthur Asseman
Meta Paragon by Luis Alberto Brown
Mr. Neptune by Michael Zammit
Newark by Harold Jimenez
No Good Deed by Heather Farlinger
No Joy by Jo Fearn
Not Angry by Madelyn Atamanchuk
Our Vision by Liam Hale
Out of Retirement by Michael Peed & Eric Mithen
Parts by Craig Calvin Page
Refresh by Alec James
Road to Zion by Andrew Reid
Rumspringa by B. Prosky
Squad by Tevin Knight
Taking Off by Tess Andrade
The Benevolent by Matthew Stedman
The Bullpen by Jeff Nessel
The Contenders by Jamaal D. Pittman & Lila Hood
The Gift by Chris Webb
The Pandora Window by Ray Chambers
The Promised Land by Al Palma and John Rizzo
The Really Expensive Space Show by Lincoln Hoppe, Alan Weischedel, & Danny Jordan
The Ret White & Brutes! by Alex M Langenfeld
The Sensualist by Suzanne Griffin
The Towns by Geoff Bakken
Trying by Madi Goff & Aliza Pearl
Under Act by Nir Shelter
Union Made by Rikki Bleiweiss
Untitled Plantation Pilot by Jian Hennings
Variety by Joshua Collins
Water by Pamela Winfrey
Welcome To You by Courtney Taylor Burness
Wild by Josh Doke & Austin Wagoner
Woman’s Best Friend by Joey Day Hargrove
Women’s Work by Kevin Schwartz



There are 38 semi-finalists out of a total of 1014.

‘Piotr’ by Kate Sellers
1, 2, 3, All Eyes On Me by Emil Gallardo & Derrick Mo
A British Romance by Lorna Davenport
A Space Opera by John Achomuma
Adjunto by Felix Pineiro
All You Want To Know by Laurel Kulow
Calle Cola by Aaron Richmond-Havel
Chualar by Ann Marie Pace
Dante’s Office by Sebastian & Zachary Benn
Deja Vu by Haley Baird Riemer
Dizzy by Kenneth J Calhoun
Dreamcatcher by Shaun Radecki
Eye of the Veil by Dorothy A. Atabong
Firsts by Oliver Warden
For Your Entertainment by Austin Brown
Fraud by Chris Conway
Garden Gnomes by Linda Barnett
Ghosted by Leah Wood
Hat Weather by Allison Theveny
Hawk Bells by Kristian Mercado Figueroa
In Too Deep by James Spillman
Latchkey Kids by David Deignan
Mutant Zone by Dana Cowden
Not in My Backyard by Max Wilson
Pebble by Oliver Giles
Pig Head by Tanya Cubric
Sentenced by Tevin James Knight
Slaughter On The Texas Plains Or The Untimely Death Of Mr. Took by Wayne Gibson
Squished by Shaun Radecki
Tank by Laurie Durrett
The Blank Page by Laura Grody
The Cull by James Bray and Sean Ryan
The Exit by Abigail Christine Kienbaum
The Interference by Mirza Ekinovic
Urania Leilus by Andrew Serban
Waiting by Christine West
Wiley and the Hairy Man: An American Folktale by Roland Greedy
Winemaker by Miriam Rahimi-Cholensky


The 2020 BlueCat Screenplay Competition Quarterfinalists can be found here.